Asking Our Bridal Party

One thing you will learn about Snicks and I, is we’re a go big or go home sort of couple. We both said from the beginning, if we’re going to get married, we’re going to do this right. We decided that this wasn’t just a celebration for just us, this was a celebration for all of the amazing people in our lives. So when we came to picking our bridal party, we wanted to pick the friends and family that meant the most of us. For this I decided to include my four best friends from college, my cousin, my best friend from high school and nick’s sisters. Also, I decided to include a junior bridesmaid, who is the granddaughter of a family friend. My MOH, is my best friend from college. We don’t talk everyday and we don’t see each other much but when we do, we just get each other on a whole ‘nother level. Snicks decided on having his brother and his childhood best friend as his best men. He was torn between the two of them and I promptly told him, this is our wedding, we can do what we want.  Which just so happens to be my motto for most of my wedding decisions. He then decided on three more childhood friends, three college friends and my brother. All in total that makes nine groomsmen, eight bridesmaids and one little junior bridesmaid.

013

Best Friends from College

029

High School Best Friend

030

MOH for the win

sisters

Snick’s sisters (They’re twins if you hadn’t noticed)

junior bridesmaid

Junior Bridesmaid FTW!

The next step on our bridal party journey was to actually ask our bridal party! Snicks was actually planning on asking me to marry him the weekend we were going away for my birthday. Every summer, some of his friends and some of my friends head up to my vacation home in upstate NY. We always have a great time and it would have been a perfect time to get engaged and to celebrate with friends and family. Snicks, being the impatient man that he is, couldn’t wait that long after buying the ring and he asked me in May instead. So we both decided the trip would be a perfect time to ask our girls and guys to be in our bridal party. We weren’t sure how to go about it, I didn’t want to spend a ton of money because our bridal party is so big but I knew I wanted to give them something a little special. That’s where the t-shirts came in. I thought they would be a perfect way to ask my girls and they could also serve double duty to wear as we get wedding on my wedding day. Now that my girls were decided, it was time to deal with how Snicks was going to ask his guys. He decided to steal my t-shirt idea with a couple of twists. Now, if you decide to follow this blog, you’ll soon learn that Snicks is very fond of the gym and not wearing any sleeves. Coincidentally, all of his groomsman are the same way (and the majority of my bridesmaids. We’re all a bunch of meat heads actually). So we purchased groomsman t-shirts and then Snicks proceeded to cut them, much to his mother’s dismay.

So after a night of drinking, playing flip cup and partaking in all sorts of debauchery out on the deck, I informed my girls to close their eyes and hold out their hands.

close your eyes - Copy

012

groomsman

015

Not all of Snick’s groomsman could make it, so Snicks also had a barbecue where he asked the rest of his groomsmen. If you noticed, Snicks forgot to order himself a GROOM t-shirt so the two guys he asked on our trip went and got one made for him to wear when he asked everyone else. Which I thought was super sweet.

groomsman 002

Also our siblings didn’t come to either the BBQ or the vacay, so we took them to separate dinners and asked them. All in all, it was a success. Everyone enjoyed themselves and they all accepted. Luckily, both the bridesmaids and groomsman are pretty friendly with each other, so it will make for a fun wedding. Hopefully not too much trouble!

Leave a Reply

